What I’m Watching

My television gets no channels. I don’t just mean that I don’t have cable…I get nothing but static, even on “3, 5, and 8,” as they say. Because of this, I have to wait for everything to make it to DVD before I see it. So, what does jaynova get from the library?

Justice League: Season 2. This is quickly becomming one of my all-time favorite cartoons, and I’m a child of the ’80s. We had great cartoons! This one, from the 2000s (is that what it’s called?) is great. It’s dark, it’s disturbing at times, but it’s still a kids show. It proves that you don’t have to dumb things down for kids; yo can do mature stories, and they’ll get it. This show has made me a fan of Hawkgirl, which is something I’ve never been.

Superman: The Animated Series: Season 1 The Justice League cartoon is a continuation of the continuity established by this show and the Batman animated series. Everything I just said about JL applies to Superman, except the hawkgirl part.

Ultimate Avengers This movie had a lot of good things going for it. The WWII Captain America stuff is great, as is the Hulk and Iron Man. Still, the pacing seems off, somehow. Another cartoon aimed at a mature audience, yet appropriate for teens.

The Best of the Electric Company I loved this show as a kid, and I can see why. Most of the things I liked as a kid are only humorous in a “lets make fun of the stupid things we liked as kids” way. This show is genuinely entertaining. There are surreal moments (like the Short Circus kids being frightened by Morgan Freeman’s giant face) that I think may have shaped my sense of humor. Oh, and Judy Graubart was gorgeous, and I’m not just saying that because she looks like my girlfriend (AKA the otter). Of couse, keeping with the comic book theme, I have to mention that I loved the Spidey Super Stories!

990.jpg
“Spider-Man/Where are you commin’ from?/Spider-Man/Nobody knows who you aaaarrrrreeee!”

The people at the library probably think that either a) I have children (which I don’t) or b) I’m some kind of wierdo (which I am).

4 Responses to “What I’m Watching”

  1. I would watch EC on the days I could tune it in on our old TV. Spiderman was the best part, and the main reason I watched.

  2. You only like me cause I look like the girl from the Electric Company! It’s ok. I only like you cause you look a bit like Fox Mulder. Can I be your Scully? 🙂

  3. Only if you’ll be my Jennifer of the Jungle and if I can be your Easy Reader. OK, so they weren’t a couple, but Mulder and Scully weren’t either. Well, not until the last seasons of the X-Files, but I didn’t watch those.

  4. Some quality choices there Jay, I haven’t seen Ultimate Avengers myself but I want to, something is needed to wash the bad taste out of my mouth after reading Civil War recently.

Leave a Reply

