What I’ve Been Listening To

Wow. It’s been a while since I’ve done this. I’ve listened to a lot of things, so lets just do the one’s I’ve really liked.

Spoon-Ga Ga Ga Ga Ga. I thought I had already reviewed this one, but I guess not. Anyway, It’s a great album, though not as good as Kill The Moonlight. The opening track, “Don’t Make Me a Target,” rocks, “I’ve Got Yr. Cherry Bomb” makes no sense but still stands out, “The Underdog” has a kind of early ’80s Billy Joel sound (back when he didn’t suck), and “My Little Japanese Cigarette Case” is one of my favorites. Lyrically, “Black Like Me” is probably the most meaningful (“Black Tar in Summer/will do a job on your sole/Black Tar in Summer/will do a job on your soul”). The only song that doesn’t work is “The Ghost of You Lingers”, in which the melody is too hard to find. I like challenging music, but this song just doesn’t go with the rest of the album.

“You Got Yr. Cherry Bomb”:

The High Strung-Get the Guests. This one took a few listens to digest just becaue of the sheer number of songs. “What a Meddler!” sets the pace for the rest of the album. In brief, the High Strung combine elements of Disco, Punk, and Twee, making them difficult to compare to any other bands. My favorite tracks are the opener, “Childhood,” “Watch Me Sustain The Early Days,” “There Was No One Before You, There Was No One Before Me,” and “Arrow.”

“Childhood”:

Radiohead-In Rainbows. I haven’t had this one long enough to let it digest, but so far, I’d say that there is no filler. Every song is good. I SWEAR. I love Radiohead, and I rarely find fault with them, but on their last two albums, I could point to a couple of filler songs. This album has less electronic stuff than Hail to the Thief. There’s a drum machine, but little else that doesn’t sound like they’ve just come from OK Computer, and Yorke’s voice is clearer and more intelligible than it’s been in a long time. “15 Steps” is great, “Bodysnatchers” rocks in the same way that Hail‘s “2+2=5” did, and “Faust Arp” is a non-stop string of lyrics like “Wolf at the Door” from Hail. Nothing on this album sounds like Yorke’s solo album…this is Radiohead, as they should have been when they released Kid A.

2 Responses to “What I’ve Been Listening To”

  1. […] October 29th, 2007 in Uncategorized Thanks to Jaynova for doing this first on this post. I’m copying him with his […]

  2. You’ve inspired me to give these bands a try.

    I like Radiohead. OK Computer was a masterpiece, but I was turned off by Kid A and haven’t listened to anything new.

    Old Billy Joel was good, he now does indeed suck.

Leave a Reply

