I’ve lost my taste for irony.

Last night, the otter, our friend Kurt, and I went to Kent, OH, to visit The Zephyr Cafe, a hipster bar in the college town. While we were there, I saw a girl get up to leave, and she had a Michael Jackson button on her coat. At that moment, I realized that I had lost me taste for irony. The button wasn’t funny, it wasn’t cute, it wasn’t kitchy. It was a lame attempt to show, as the official Zephyr tee shirts say, that she was “too cool for school.”

Hey, hipsters; get over yourselves. You all stink like cigarettes and 3 days without bathing, and your beards look like shit.

6 Responses to “I’ve lost my taste for irony.”

  1. Gosh, that’s a bit harsh. Maybe she wasn’t being ironic!

  2. Was it young MJ? Or older?
    This is very important to replying to this blog.
    -m

  3. Hmmm…Irony in MJ? But was it Thriller?

  4. Heh. I felt like crap yesterday when I wrote that. I didn’t have enough sleep.

    Anyway, it was Thriller-era Michael, but I still got the impression that she thought it was funny.

  5. thriller did connect with a lot of people, and still does. Maybe she was genuinly a fan. Or thought it would be cool to wear it bc it’s cool to like MJ from that era with the young kids. I don’t think it was irony.
    But I can totally understand how that could get your panties in a twist. Especially if you were not feeling well!
    -m

  6. […] retraction of sorts… In my post about losing my irony, I may have ruffled the feathers of a few of my friends. I didn’t mean to, and my hatred of […]

Leave a Reply

