A retraction of sorts…

In my post about losing my irony, I may have ruffled the feathers of a few of my friends. I didn’t mean to, and my hatred of hipsters does not extend to you. However, I thought I should clarify something that I’ve realized…

It’s not the hipsters that I hate as much as hipster-posturing.

Here’s an example of what I mean:

The otter and I went to a pub in Highland Square, Akron, a place called The Matinee. It’s a nice little hipster bar with Belle and Sebastian on the Juke Box. The people there were all having a good time, drinking, joking, and enjoying the music. I loved it there and would definitely go back.

When we went to the Zephyr this week, some of the same people from the Matinee were there, but they weren’t having fun. they were there to be seen. Seriously, we went to the top level (there are two floors), and people were just sitting at the bar, trying to look cool. No music was even playing (until the otter, Kurt, and I played Sonic Youth, Neutral Milk Hotel, and Interpol, among other bands on the Jukebox). I think that’s what pissed me off…the posturing. These were the same people I had fun with at the Matinee, but now I hated them.

So there you go. If you consider yourself hip and you are my friend, I don’t hate you. Just leave your over-sized Michael Jackson button at home when you hang out with me.

3 Responses to “A retraction of sorts…”

  1. In my experience, back in the days when I actually left the house, it was important to find a place that was not about accumulating scene points if thats what what you’re after. I never dug that and stayed out of those places or stayed away on those nights.

    Irony is a bad scene. Its terrible to really enjoy something, even if you know its not cool, and have someone else pretend to enjoy it as a punchline.

    This can all be avoid if you take all your indie rock albums and trade them in for Iron Maiden’s catalog ; )

  2. k. but can I wear my bullwinkle hat?

  3. Is it an ironic Bullwinkle hat? (And do we get to watch you pul a rabbit out of it?)

Leave a Reply

