One Book: The Meme

I’m stealing this meme idea from Bibliomom because, Hell, it’s just a good idea.  She got it from somewhere else anyway…

One book that changed my life

Watchmen by Alan Moore and Dave Gibbons.  This book showed me what a comic book could be.  If you don’t believe me, read this book, and when you get to issue 11, the next-to-the-last page, get back with me.

One Book That I’ve Read More Than Once

1984 by George Orwell.  I was never the kind of kid who went around trying to start little revolutions against "the establishment" or who constantly saw conspiracies on every lunch menu, but this book spoke to me even then.  One lesson I learned from it was the best way to control a population is to invent a threat to it. 

HONORABLE MENTION: The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald.  I had to read this one twice for school, and both times I put it off until the last minute, so I had to read it in one sitting.  Let me emphasize this: I, having Attention Deficit Disorder, read this book twice, each time in one sitting.  It’s that good.

One Book That Made Me Laugh

The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams.  If you have never read this book, or the others in the series, do so.  Now.

One Book That Made Me Cry

Blankets by Craig Thompson.  This graphic novel haunted me for days.  When Raina breaks his heart, I feel like she broke mine.  Bitch.

One Book That I Wish I Had Written

Neuromancer by William Gibson.  Definitive cyberpunk.

One Book That I Wish Had Never Been Written.

Malleus Maleficarum by Heinrich Institoris Kramer and Jacob Sprenger.

Also: Seduction of the Innocent by Dr. Fredric Wertham.

One Book(s) That I’m Currently Reading

One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcia Marquez. 

Heroes: Saving Charlie by Aury Wallington.

How to Write for Animation by Jeffery Scott.

Students for a Democratic Society: a Graphic History by Harvey Pekar with Gary Dunn.

Legends Of The Gods:The Egyptian Texts, Translated by E. A. Wallis Budge.

One Book That I’m Meaning To Read

One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest by Ken Kessey.

TAGGING:
Amuirin
J.A.Y.S.O.N.
Matt
Chris
Mo
and, of course, the otter, though she’ll answer in the comments.

7 Responses to “One Book: The Meme”

  1. Wow, you’re taking on a lot of books there!

    This is the second post in a row I’ve read about books, and it always makes me want to do a book post. So maybe you could tag people. (me)

    I love the Hitchhiker series. I have a book love page on my blog, and it’s ‘Restaurant at the End of the Universe) that made the list. That’s like the best of all effed up scenarios.

  2. OH! You have to read one flew over the cuckoo’s nest!! It’s so great!
    I’m replying to this meme today on my myspace!! Thanks for the tag.
    -m

  3. Yes, read Cuckoos nest. One of the best books ever written.

  4. Hey, is the Pekar SDS book cool? I heard about this project a few months ago and have been curious about it since then.

  5. More than once: Charles Manson In His Own Words, Choke
    Made me laugh: Shock Value by John Waters, You Are Worthless
    Wish I wrote: You Are Worthless by Dr Oswald T. Pratt
    Currently reading: Play Better Pool, The Two Towers, MORE Natural Cures They Don’t Want You To Know About
    Meaning to read: Everything I haven’t read yet

Leave a Reply

