Political Musing

Ok, as many of you know, I am hugely in favor of H.R.676, the Conyers/Kucinich health care plan, which would insure every American under a universal payer system. The way I see it, when medicine is being run for profit, it’s not being run for patients.

I am also against Clinton’s plan, which essentially forces everyone to participate in a for-profit system that is already broken. Her plan would fix some of the problems of the system, but I think that forcing us into a system that already doesn’t work makes the problem worse. This is especially true for someone like me who makes enough money to not get the government assistance her plan would give, but who is in so much debt that I am practically in poverty.

I really didn’t have an opinion on the Obama plan. He would insure children who need insurance, so that all children would be insured. I have no children, so this doesn’t affect me. Or so I thought.

I got to thinking, though…what happens when these universally insured children turn 18? Well, to start, they lose their insurance. More importantly, though, they gain the ability to vote. I’m not sure it’s Obama’s intention, but by showing people that universal health care can work, then taking it away from new voters, he is actually promoting the ideals of H.R. 676. the Obama play is not a band-aid on a gushing wound, as I thought it was, but a baby step towards universal health care for all.

Shhhh…don’t tell the Right about this.

One Response to “Political Musing”

  1. mums the word.

    My kid is sick today. AGAIN. This year has been like one long virus, I’m tempted not to send her back to plaguesville, so sick of cleaning up throw up and forcing antibiotics down her etc. etc.

    So right now, universal health care is sounding pretty good.

Leave a Reply

