A Road Less Traveled?

Yesterday, I decided to try to find a shortcut to the grocery store. You see, usually, I have to walk south about 1/4 mile, then East for a while, and finally North about 1/2 mile. A couple of weeks ago, I saw that just north of me, there is a “Covered Bridge Park,” which looks like it goes straight through to the store.

When I got to the park, the 1st thing I noticed was that it is hilly. You can’t really see from one end to the other over the hills. Also, there is a baseball field where some kids were playing. Around this field is a track. This track is where my troubles began.

The track is covered in rocks. I suppose they call it gravel, but it was rocks. Sharp, pointy rocks. In my generic chucks (actually, Old Navy brand canvas shoes), I could feel every one of them. So I stumbles and limped along the track until I got around the baseball diamond. As I expected, as my luck usually follows this way, the path is a loop. When I got behind the diamond, I had nowhere to go but where I came from. i had hopes that I would find, hmmm…maybe a covered bridge!?! No such luck.

I decided that I would not be deterred…I pushed my wat through the trees along the path, hoping it would lead me to the store. I pushed through one side of the wooded area and into…

A cemetary. What the hell? As far as I knew, there was no cemetary between my apartment and the store, so I was officially lost. Not only that, but due to my lack of direction sense, I wasn’t sure which was would lead to the road. I listened for traffic, and thought I knew where it was coming from, so I headed in that direction.

fortunately, I was right, and I trecked out of the graveyard and onto Cleveland Avenue, the busy street where the store is. Unfortunately, it seems that I overshot the store by about 1/2 mile.

The end result of the adventure is that a 45 minute walk took 2 hours, my feet are blistered, and I still don’t know of a shortcut to get to the store.

5 Responses to “A Road Less Traveled?”

  1. Your perennial bad luck is sort of comical. It could be the subject of a sitcom.

    I couldn’t help but think this story was leading toward zombies when you ended up in a cemetary.

  2. For all his zombie talk, I hope Jason never runs into the zombies, he’s ill equipped to deal with them.

  3. UncleTigger Says:

    Doh!

    (I speak American, see ! I good speak it, yes?)

    Actually, it is night here, and I wish I had not read your story-trek JUST before going to bed. All my life I have had “Lost my way . . .DAMN ! A CEMETERY” dreams, now I have to have YOURS, by proxy ! ! ! ?

    How is that fair, J?.

    lol. Night bro.

  4. Ya gotta get the car fixed kiddo! Thankfully your adventure was in September instead of January.

  5. At least you know of a new hunting ground when the zombie apocalypse finally arrives.

Leave a Reply

