Archive for 29 November 2008

NaNoWriMo, day 29 (or: End of Days)

Posted in Music, NaNoWriMo, Writing on 29 November 2008 by jason

nano_08_winner_100x100

Day 29. After an almost 5000 word rally yesterday, I was able to put the finish on this thing today, one day early. And I didn’t just cross the finish line, either; my final words on it were “The End.”

So, what the hell was the point of writing a novel that no one will see? I’ll tell you what the hell the point was! I always say that I would write more if I only had more time. When I started this NaNoWriMo, I thought that I was going to have to unhook the X-Box, stop reading, and focus all my attention on my writing. Instead, I got about 15 hours into Gladius (my favorite video game EVAARRRR!), I read about 400 pages of The Stand (finishing it, I might add), I read J. D. Salinger’s Nine Stories, I went to see Murder By Death, I had time for friends…In other words, I didn’t have to change most of my behavior. I have no excuses now.

Basically, in one month, I have proven that I’m the only thing that’s been holding me back my whole life. Starting December 1st (so I have a day to recover), I’m working on some short stories to send for contests and publication. We’ll see. This might be a new beginning for me.

Cue: Exit Music!