NaNoWriMo, day 29 (or: End of Days)

nano_08_winner_100x100

Day 29. After an almost 5000 word rally yesterday, I was able to put the finish on this thing today, one day early. And I didn’t just cross the finish line, either; my final words on it were “The End.”

So, what the hell was the point of writing a novel that no one will see? I’ll tell you what the hell the point was! I always say that I would write more if I only had more time. When I started this NaNoWriMo, I thought that I was going to have to unhook the X-Box, stop reading, and focus all my attention on my writing. Instead, I got about 15 hours into Gladius (my favorite video game EVAARRRR!), I read about 400 pages of The Stand (finishing it, I might add), I read J. D. Salinger’s Nine Stories, I went to see Murder By Death, I had time for friends…In other words, I didn’t have to change most of my behavior. I have no excuses now.

Basically, in one month, I have proven that I’m the only thing that’s been holding me back my whole life. Starting December 1st (so I have a day to recover), I’m working on some short stories to send for contests and publication. We’ll see. This might be a new beginning for me.

Cue: Exit Music!

10 Responses to “NaNoWriMo, day 29 (or: End of Days)”

  1. Congrats! That’s awesome that you actually got to put “The End” on yours. Me, not so much. But, you’re right. The only thing that is holding us back is ourselves. Good lesson to learn.

  2. You’re a winner!

    It’s hard to have passion and drive. Especially when the internets are right there. :p

    Congratulations on getting done EARLY, even.

  3. Fantabulous. Awesomy.

    But… no one’s ever going to see it?

  4. Congrats, Jason! So far, only one person on my flist has finished theirs.

  5. I’m so proud of you! No one ever has to know that you even teared up a bit at the end.
    Oops!

  6. SHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!

  7. […] other thing I learned, I think Jaynova said best,  is that basically the only thing that has been holding me back from accomplishing what […]

  8. Congratulations you smug little bastard, you. Your insight is frustratingly simplistic and accurate. Now I feel all inspired and stuff. Now I have to write more. Curse you. Curse you and blast you!

    No, really, that is fantastic. Do all of your friends get a copy of the manuscript, or do we have to wait and buy it off the shelf like commoners.

  9. Great work. Is there any zombies in the novel? I can hope….

  10. Stevo..yes, actually! The novel takes place 3 years after there was nearly a zombie apocalypse!

Leave a Reply

