Christmas Goodies 2: Music Edition

As you may have noticed on my previous Christmas Goodies post, CDs were conspicuously absent. I figure this is because no one knows what I already have, and a lot of the music I listen to is…well, lets just say that a lot of it never makes it to top 40 radio.

Anyway, using Christmas money and taking advantage of sales and coupons, I’ve managed to get a ton of music, and I think that I’ve spent about $25 all together. *pats back* So, here’s what I got.

Leonard Cohen-Songs of Leonard Cohen-This is the first Leonard Cohen album. I feel bad, because I love Leonard Cohen, but I only had some best ofs. When the otter and I visited her friends Lesley and Adrian, I saw Lesley’s Cohen collection, and I got in the mood to listen to some full albums. Anyway, this one’s great.

Here’s a track: So Long Marianne

Leonard Cohen-Songs of Love and Hate-This is Cohen’s third album, and it’s much darker (and less accessible) than his first one. If you can get into it, though, it’s better than the first one.

Here’s a track: Dress Rehearsal Rag

Elvis Costello and the Attractions-This Year’s Model This is Elvis Costello’s second album. Listen to it. Love it.

Here’s a track: Pump It Up

Pulp-Separations-This Pulp album was released right before Pulp became popular with the Britpop movement of the early-to-mid nineties. Lots of dance music. I like it, but I haven’t heard it enough for any tracks to stand out.

Here’s a track: My Legendary Girlfriend

Jarvis Cocker-The Jarvis Cocker Record-Jarvis Cocker again. This album is the shit, and I don’t care who says otherwise. I do think hekind of ripped Bob Dylan off with the melody for “Don’t Let Him Waste Your Time,” and it doesn’t help that the main riff from the next song, “Black Magic” is a sample from the song “Crimson and Clover,” but still, I love this album.

Here’s a track: Fat Children

Balthrop, Alabama-A Very Balthrop Christmas Full disclosure: I am friends with a member of this band. That said, even if I weren’t a fan, I would get their stuff. The tracks “Christmas Misses,” “Christmas in Jail,” and “Army Guy” stand out for me.

I don’t have a track to share, but go to EndUp Records, give it a listen, then BUY IT.

4 Responses to “Christmas Goodies 2: Music Edition”

  1. Thats a good haul!

    I got music too:

    Rosetta – Wake/Life
    Murder by Death/Volta do Mar split EP
    Zozobra – Harmonic Tremors
    Noism – +
    27 – Animal Life & Holding on for Brighter Days

  2. I have lots of new music, I’m trying to fill an 80G iPod. My new fave is My Chemical Romance: The Black Parade is Dead.

    I wish I could watch the vids you posted, but the great firewall blocks them.

  3. Some guy got me Beck’s new album “Modern Guilt.” He’s a sweetpea. I mean, the guy who got it for me, not Beck of course.

  4. […] in January, and before that, last June, I mentioned the band Balthrop, Alabama. Don’t remember? Go ahead […]

Leave a Reply

