The Gen X Encyclopedia

My girlfriend is about 5 years younger than I am, and she belongs in a different generation than I do. I’m on the ass-end of Generation X, while she is part of Gereration Y (Or the “Millennials”). Because of this, we often have different cultural references or experiences that do not make sense to each other. For instance, I couldn’t imagine getting off of school in 10th grade and going straight to Starbucks. I don’t think we even had a starbucks around these parts.

Anyway, I occasionally mention things that were a part of my youth that she has never heard of. To remedy this, I present to you (and to her) jaynova’s Gen X Encyclopedia.

Here’s an entry for you:

Technotronic-A dance/hip-hop group from the late ’80s and early ’90s. The lead vocals on their biggest US hits were provided by the androgynous Ya Kid K. Under the name Hi Kek 3, they appeared on the soundtrack to one of the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles movies. Their songs were usually about pumping things up and moving bodies.

7 Responses to “The Gen X Encyclopedia”

  1. Pump up the jam! Pump it up!

  2. A-pump it up! Yo, pump it!

  3. Wow. I’m scared. Quick, can someone make a reference that my Millennial mind will comprehend?!

  4. I don’t know. I think the generations thing is one of those ‘who’s doing the definitions things.’ Gen X was definitely the cultural influence for me and Jay, but I depending on where people draw the lines we’re Gen Y. IDENTITY CRISIS! AAAAAAAAA!

  5. I run into this all the time. Most of the teachers I work with are much younger. Some older colleagues and I talk about 80s TV: The A-Team, Magnum PI, etc. When we mistakenly make a comment to a younger colleague they look lost and dumbfounded.

  6. i used to argue about this with steve from plastic coat hangers about this. i can’t remember what the outcome was.
    starbucks…. let’s see, the first one in canton was the one at the strip, which showed up…. 1997? 98?

  7. Chris…I was around during those formative high-school years of yours, and I would say that you are Gen X, or on the cusp. Kurt meant too much to you for you to be Gen Y.

Leave a Reply

