The Loneliness of the Middle Distance Runner III: This time, it’s personal!

Yesterday, I ran in the Louisville (OH) Area YMCA 2-Mile Fun Run, as I’ve done every year for the past 3 years now. Things didn’t start out so well, and there were several bad omens before the race, but I’m very happy with my performance.

The first of the bad omens was that in the morning, it was COLD. Now, it’s always cold for this race, but usually, this race is held earlier in the year. It was kind of odd that in the middle of June, the temperature would drop.

The second of the bad omens was that I had set up an awesome mixtape for the race, which looked like this:

Andrew Bird-Fake Palindromes
The Mountain Goats-Baboon
Nico-These Days
Morrissey-Something is Squeezing my Skull
Balthrop, Alabama-Red Hook Pool
The Pixies-Wave of Mutilation

Pretty good mix, right? Starts fast, gets slow so I pace myself, “Red Hook Pool” is a good song to end with, and if I was going too slowly, “Wave of Mutilation” would speed me home. The problem? For some reason, the mix was not on my MP3 Player when I got to the race. My carefully designed race mix was gone.

Still, all was not lost. Right as the race was going to begin, the temperature rose to a comfortable place. I looked through my M3’s and decided to listen to Balthrop, Alabama’s Subway Songs because “Red Hook Pool” would play at about the same time it would have on my mix.

So, the race began, and we were off running. Everything went smoothly except for the very beginning of the race, which is at a bottleneck. Everyone gets slowed down at this point, but it is frustrating that they would start everyone off on such a narrow path. Meh.

As far as my own running, I felt pretty good until the 1 mile mark, where I started to tire. I kept going, though, and ended up finishing at 17:19.05. This is about 1 minute and 30 seconds faster than my time last year! For those who don’t know anything about running, a 10 second improvement is a good thing. A minute-and-30-second improvement? Let’s just say that I’m shocked.

So, all-in-all, it turned out to be a pretty good race for me. Next up: The 4th of July race in North Canton!

6 Responses to “The Loneliness of the Middle Distance Runner III: This time, it’s personal!”

  1. listening to Nico on a run?? that stuff just makes me want to sip champagne, i can’t imagine exercising to it… maybe i can…
    then again, i just rode my exercise bike listening to Luna’s “Pup Tent”, so what do i know. then again, it did feel awkward the whole time, like i should be listening to Black Flag instead…
    what am i trying to say?

    • Hehehe…Well, I realized that Nico seemed like an odd choice, but it was really to slow me down so that I wouldn’t wear myself out. It would get me ready for the big push during the Morrissey song and the one by that one band from Brooklyn.

      Tell the other guys in Balthrop I said thanks for some great race music!

  2. Is this Nico and the Velvet Underground Nico, is that shit cool again?

  3. Michael Page Says:

    Hey Next Time You Run In Louisville
    Run Over And Stop At My Place!
    Hope All Is Well!
    UnKleMike

Leave a Reply

