Another Race…

Last sunday, I ran in the Pro Footbal Hall Of Fame Enshrinement Festival 2-Mile Fun Run (say that 5 times fast!) in Stadium Park. If you’ve been following my previous races, there were no surprises this time around.

I rode my bike there early and walked down to the starting line about a half-hour before the race began. I like getting to the races early; there’s something about watching everyone physically and mentally prepare themselves for a race. At the starting line, I met up with my friend Nour, who also runs in these things.

It was funny, because I was joking with Nour that if I was in charge of the race, there would be no national anthem, no prayer, no warning. I woud come out, fire the starting pistol, and that would be it. About a minute after I said that, the pistol went off, startling everyone! After a second of confusion, the race was on!

racing
(picture taken from www.ohiochallengeseries.com)

Of course, I still can’t get my MP3 Player to play my race mix (probably because my non-internet computer has an old version of Windows Media Player), so I went with The Long Blondes-Someone to Drive You Home. It’s pretty good for a racing album.

Anyway, it was not to hot, but the humidity made it hard to breathe, and most of the race is uphill. I knew that I wouldn’t beat last month’s time, but I was hoping to beat my time for this race, which I did by almost 2 minutes! I finished at 16:23.60, and I had hoped to finish in 16:30, so goal achieved!

Afterwards, I met back up with Nour, as well as the otter and her sister, who has started the race further away from the starting line. We ate the free food (which, for some reason, always includes sandwhiches with meat! Come on, people…runners are often health-nuts! Some of us don’t eat meat!) and watched the other racers finish before going home and napping.

I think, as usually, the HOF race is my last one for the year. Next year, my goal is to run in at leat one 5K race. Wish me luck!

2 Responses to “Another Race…”

  1. quicksilverthor Says:

    Luck I wish for you.

Leave a Reply

