NaNoWriMo 2009, Day 1

Ok…I’ve got my NaNo hat, my laptop, and a lot of coffee…time to get this started.

nano1

Me and my NaNo hat


As some of you know, I’m participating in NaNoWriMo, the month long Novel Writing frenzy. Today, I wrote 2000 or so words, which I will share with you in a sec. First, though, to all those who are participating, good luck. If you’ve done this before, you know how exhausting and how rewarding it is.

If you’ve never done this before, here are some words of advice:
1) Don’t get discouraged. Even if you get writer’s block, you have a whole month to get to 50,000 words. Writing a little beyond the suggested 1667 word a day quota can make up for a few bad days in no time.

2)Have multiple plotlines going. I had 3 last year. If you get bored with one, start writing on one of the others.

3)DO NOT ERASE ANYTHING. Extraneous words still count towards the 50,000 goal. Turn off your inner editor for this.

OK, good luck all, especially newcomers Yvonne and Jessica. Without further ado, here’s the fruit of my 1st day of labor.

Ben 1

I’m not sure where to begin.

I guess I could start at my birth, but I don’t really know anything about it. I have some theories, but they’re pretty unbelievable. One of them involves me being sent away from my dying home planet in a rocket by my alien parents, so that I might survive amongst you humans. Another theory places me in a secret government eugenics facility, where I was the product of years of super-scientific experimentation dating back to some World War II super soldier program.

In any event, all I know is that I am different.

I can’t believe I’m telling you this. I never tell anybody this.

When did I realize I was different? Pretty early on, actually. When I was five, or so my parents, my adoptive parents, tell me, I was playing in the garden. I was never a big fan of dirt, truth be told, so I’m not sure what I was doing in the garden,but apparently, I was. Anyway, I was in the garden, and suddenly, the tomato plants caught on fire. Then the small row of corn stalks. I was surrounded by fire. I don’t remember any of this, but my dad had to bring out the hose and save me. I guess it was all pretty frightening, but like I said, I don’t remember.

Huh? What caused it? Oh, my heat vision, of course. Yeah, the first…um…power I developed was heat vision. Imagine my parents shock. They had a boy, a five year old boy they had recently adopted, who could burn the house down by looking at it. Seriously, I mean, how would you react? I don’t know if I could be as strong as they were. I mean—

Huh? Oh, yeah. I have super strength. It came with puberty. But that’s not what I mean. I mean inner strength…

Oh. You were joking. Yeah. That’s one power I don’t seem to have…a sense of sarcasm.

Anyway, my parents taught me right from wrong. You know: don’t hurt people, don’t take advantage of others just because you can do things they can’t. Don’t burn the damn house down. Stuff like that.

Seriously, you don’t really want to know any of this. I mean, it’s pretty boring, actually. You know…I went to school, passed some subjects, did poorly in math, had trouble talking to girls, found out I could fly. You know, pretty basic—

Oh! Yeah, I can fly. But I’m afraid of heights, so it’s kind of a mixed blessing. Huh? No, I don’t think I’d be comfortable taking you on a flight. I might…drop you. No! You’re not fat! That’s not what I meant! I just meant that I’m clumsy. I just…I don’t think that it would be safe. I mean, seriously, if I dropped you on our first date, even if you survived, how could I live with myself?

Huh? Are you sure you want to know about all this? I mean, a lot of girls…well, some girls anyway (I shouldn’t say “a lot”…there haven’t been many), some girls are fascinated by this stuff, but then they have one of two reactions: they either get scared and refuse to talk to me, or they get bored.

Huh? No, I never tell anyone about this stuff, but I mean, when you’re in a relationship with someone, even for a short time, it becomes hard to hide. I mean, the first time I forget myself and lift the couch to get something out from under it, or the first time I trip and forget to actually fall, or the first time someone who has figured me out tries to stab me and comes back with a bent knife, they tend to guess that somethings up.

You’re sure you want to hear all this? Because seriously, Julie, it’s not that exciting. It sounds great, but really, I’m just like anyone else. When I get cut, I bleed. Granted, it’s almost impossible to cut me, but it can happen. And I have the same fears as everyone else. You know..I don’t know how I’m going to pay the bills in this uncertain economy. I sometimes worry about the state of the world, what with the fighting in the middle east and Russia trying to assert itself as a Superpower and all that. And, you know…I get lonely. All these things that you would think make it so great to be me? They are what separates me from everyone else.

Huh? OK, so I’m not just like anyone else. But my differences are not as great as others would think, yet they keep me isolated. I can’t really be myself, you know?

What other differences? OK, I mentioned the heat vision thing, and the super strength, and the flight. Yeah, and the invulnerability, too. Hmmm…I can hear really well. No, not like across the city well, but it’s extremely hard to sneak up on me. I can hear whispers from…eh…a few blocks away. And I have super cold breath. I mean, it’s cold enough,when I want it to be, to freeze water, and I can knock a person over with it. I think that’s it…No. Wait…I’m also fast. I can run a mile in a minute, if I push myself. I’m not sure how many miles per hour that is…I’m not so good at math.

Sixty? Hmmm…yeah, I guess. Sixty miles per hour. I can sustain that, too.

Holding my breath? That’s a good question. I don’t know how long I can hold my breath. I never really liked swimming. I’m not good at it. I know that I inhaled water once and almost drowned. So I guess you could say that water is my weakness.

Bruce Willis in what movie? No, I never saw it. I don’t see too many movies. Sorry.

So yeah, these abilities. I try not to broadcast them, because people expect you to do things with them once they know about them. I mean, look at Captain Firebrand. That guy was constantly being called on to stop the Conspiracy of Cartographers, and he eventually burned out. He—

Huh? Burned out? Oh! Yeah, I guess that is kind of funny.

Anyway, yeah. I don’t tell too many people about these things because, you know, they’d want me to go out and save lives, or maybe join the Guild of Heroic Persons. But that’s not me. I mean, how am I going to save lives? I’ve got no real skills. I don’t know CPR. I don’t know Kung Fu. I don’t even know how to change a flat tire! Seriously. No, anyone who wants me to dress up and play hero is barking up the wrong tree.

Don’t get me wrong; having these abilities does have its advantages. I mean, I can reach tall shelves, I can do heavy lifting, I can cook without worrying about burning myself. Well, OK, I can’t really cook, but if I could, I could do so without fear of bodily harm.

What are you laughing at? I don’t know…I guess it is a little funny, on the surface. I mean, sure, all those guys in the funny costumes have powers….God, I hate that word…powers that set them apart from…um…baseline people? But that’s not to say that all people with powers do that stuff. I’m sure there are people all around you who can do something special, yet choose not to become heroes…another word I hate, by the way…heroes because even with these abilities, it’s just not in the cards.

I just…oh. Another Newcastle, please. Thank you. I just think that those guys, the ones in the costumes, the ones who always arrive “just in time” to “save the day,” they all have a few things besides extra-human powers that set them apart. First, they have skill. They know how to save lives. That’s just a fact. Secondly, they have confidence. They don’t second guess themselves. It probably comes from years of training or something I never had. I don’t know. Anyway, the third thing about them, which goes along with their confidence, I think….they are ALL complete ass holes.

Seriously. Have you ever met any of them? I’ve met a few. They’ve come into my work, or they stopped a giant lizard from trampling the city while I was on the way to work, or what have you, and they’ve always, in my experience, been complete and total ass holes.

Take The Night, for instance. One night, I was walking home from work, and these guys jumped me and demanded my wallet. And yeah, I know that they couldn’t really have done anything to me, but still, I didn’t want to cause any trouble, so I was going to give it to them. I don’t carry that much money on my anyway, and my credit cards are all in default…anyway, that Night guy shows up and does that blurry, “cloud men’s minds” thing he does. Honestly, I couldn’t see what he was doing, and I have super-vision! Huh? Oh, yeah. Super-vision. It’s another thing I have. Add that to the list. Anyway, he shows up, knocks the guys out, and hands me my wallet. Awesome. Then, he proceeds to lecture me on the dangers of walking home at night. He tells me that the city’s not safe, and that I need to make sure I’m home before it gets dark.

Ok, I know it’s dangerous. But you know what? Some of have to work for a living. Some of us can’t afford cars, or gas to go in those cars, or car insurance. It’s not like I wanted to be out that late. Really, do you think I would walk an hour home every work night, in the dark, if I didn’t have to?

Huh? My work? Ok, what you ave to realize is that I had to find a job that I would actually be good at. I’m not that good with numbers, and I’m not manually dexterous. I can lift heavy things, I can move quickly, and can see and hear well, and I don’t get injured very often. I needed to find a job that I could excel at with my…unique skill set.

I work at Bullseye. I’m the best back stock clerk they have.

No, Julie, I don’t think it’s a waste of time. It’s a job that I can do well, it pays well…OK, not well, but well enough to survive off of, and I’m up for a raise in two months. And, if I don’t say so myself, I look good in red.

No, that was a joke.

Anyway, I like my job. I get thirty five hours a week, I like my co-workers (well, most of them), and it gives me a lot of time to think. It’s not exactly a mentally taxing job. And there’s really not much that’s expected of me. I mean—

Well, I wouldn’t say I lack ambition. It’s just, well, it stands to reason that I’ll be around for a long time. Look at the way those other guys age…the one’s that don’t get blown up by aliens or whatnot. They live for freakin’ ever. And they age well, too. So, I figure, what’s the hurry. I got all the time in the world. I work my eight hours, I go home and watch some TV…maybe play on the Internet for a while. You know…enjoy life?

That’s harsh. What you call “wasted potential” I call “not letting other people tell me what to do.” I do what I like, for the most part, and I don’t hut anybody. I mean, I don’t use my abilities to try to screw anyone out of anything.

Well, OK. Maybe at work, but most of those guys are gone in a year anyway.

4 Responses to “NaNoWriMo 2009, Day 1”

  1. Fantastic start! I can’t wait to read more about this guy!

  2. hi,nice jeans in your post,I love thatgreatjeans,I need to find one for me,bill

  3. hi,fantastic shirt in your post,I love thatfantasticshirt,I need to find one for me,bill

  4. Hello,

    I thought you and the readers might want to consider receiving free copy of Dead Rising 2. Here’s the story.
    I discovered an online site – http://www.deadrising2forfree.info (that i assumed was a total BS, because it’s well known you’ll find nothing “free” and I saw these kinds of websites before a lot), I made a decision to give it a try and clicked through, followed on-screen instructions – and here I am 3 weeks later with my brand-new shiny piece of plastic – Dead Rising 2 unboxed!

    Now get there and try it out yourself.

    Hope I added some value to your blog and someone gets as lucky as me!

Leave a Reply

