What to do…

My upstairs neighbor beats his girlfriend.

This is a fact. They’ve both denied it to the police several times, but I’ve heard it.

Since the police won’t do anything about it, I was about 30 seconds from breaking down their door yesterday and taking care of the problem myself. By the time I was up there, though, he had stopped hitting her, and so instead of protecting her, I would have just been retaliating.

On the advice of a friend, I left a note on the door to the building that read:

To the guy upstairs who hits his girlfriend:

We can all hear you. We know you do it. We’ve called the police, but she always denies it. Just so you know, if it ever happens again, we’re coming up there. We fucking mean it.

Signed: EVERYONE.

NEVER. AGAIN.

Today, the note was gone, but the only neighbor who wouyld have seen it at that hour was my downstairs neighbor. So, my only other able-bodied neighbor would rather sit back and let it happen than get involved. This is why the crime problem is so bad in our neighborhood and in our building. No one cares enough to do anything.

So, the dilemma is: do I go up and do something about it next time? Some of my friends say I should, and some say that I’ll just get myself killed. Honestly, I figure if I try anything, the girlfriend will jump to his defense, and I will be outnumbered. Plus, I’ll end up going to jail from breaking & entering and assault. Some friends say that I can’t help her until she helps herself. I feel like if I don’t do anything, I’m just as guilty as he is.

Anyway, thoughts? Advice?

4 Responses to “What to do…”

  1. jay zukas Says:

    me personally, I would leave the same letter on sir douchebags appartment door to ensure that he’s been officially warned before you surprise him by showing up at his door and beating the tar out ov him with a lamp.then if it does continue… initiate operation douche-coffin

  2. Stay (physically) out of it and keep calling the police when it happens.

  3. hunternyumi Says:

    Keep calling the police, your safety is as important as hers. She will stick up for him because she thinks they are in love. Some people think love has to hurt.

  4. Hi.

    I’m going to weigh in here, cus I was that girl, once upon a time.

    You can’t stop it. She has to want to end the relationship. But the only way I was able to come to terms with what was happening to me was when he was taken to jail and locked up for 90 days, and I had a chance to actually catch up instead of just getting ready for the next one, and the next one.

    Keep calling the police. Call them when it happens. Get them to come when its taking place. Try calling a victim’s advocate to talk to the girl.

    That’s kind of the height of what you can do, trying to get the guy locked up. Because she has to end it on her own.

    terrible situation, so sorry for all involved-

    -nissa

Leave a Reply

