My New(ish) Hobby

When I was in college, let’s say around 1996-1998, I missed a lot of class. Yeah, I was one of those guys. I did well enough, but I spent most of the class time in the basement of the student center, usually playing Axis and Allies, Battletech, and whatnot. It was something I found really fun, but it got in the way of school, and my wife at the time didn’t like the games I wanted to play, so it was a short lived hobby.

Fast forward about 15 years, and I am with a new girl (whom I think I’m mentioning here for the 1st time…Hi, Adele!) who actually likes to play these games! So, I’m back in the game!

The Action cards I played in one hand of Dominion

Adele and I play board (or card) games a few nights a week, and we sometimes go to vents like BoGA Night at Underhill’s Games. Some of our favorite games are Pandemic, Settlers of Catan, and Dominion, just to name a few. And yeah, it’s a geeky hobby to have, especially with websites like Board Game Geek where you can talk about games on the message boards and track all your games played.

Me and a few friends at BoGA Night, running into trouble after entering Castle Ravenloft.

Of course, we’re trying to convert our friends and family over to the dork side. I got my brother and his wife a copy of the game Tsuro for Christmas, and we try to get Adele’s brother and sister to play Ticket To Ride or Carcassonne when we visit. My brother and his wife now want to get together to try more games, and I’ve played Settlers a could of times with Adele’s brother, so we’re making progress.

So anyway, if I start rambling about these games, you know what I’m talking about.

4 Responses to “My New(ish) Hobby”

  1. Hi Jason 🙂 We played other games with my family too: Dominion, Carcassonne, Settlers of Catan, Fluxx. Super Munchkin, and Ticket to Ride if I recall correctly. We’ll keep introducing them to other games too 🙂
    -Adele

  2. Ah! Get out of my head!

Leave a Reply

