From the dream journal of jaynova

…I’m helping a production crew film the movie God Help the Girl (written and Directed by Stuart Murdoch of Belle & Sebastian). The production is a mess, and everything is on a shoesring budget. Many of the scenes are being shot on the stage of a theatre becasue it’s cheaper.

I am also dating this girl (And, I want to point out that that this dream has nothing to do with my current relationship with Adele…this whole thing just feels symbolic, you know?) with whom things are not going well. Between trying to manage the movie and the relationship, I’m stressed out.

However, we finish the film just under budget by cutting corners and having locals volunteer for parts in the movie. One couple shows the crew a trick (which we get on film) where the guy (an old, heavy-set man with a beard) pours whisky on himself, and his wife (an older woman, early 50s, maybe) rubs ice cream on him, then sets the whisky on fire. Everyone has a good laugh. Then, they tell me a joke which begins “What do you call a couple made up of an Amish man and an ‘English'(non-Amish) woman?” They tell me the answer, and I feel like the answer holds some key to understanding the universe, much like the question “If, hypothetically, you have a bottle, and in the bottle is a goose roughly the size of the bottle, how do you get the goose out of the bottle without hurting the goose or breaking the bottle?” The joke is one of those types of things.

Anyway, right before the wrap party, my girlfriend breaks up with me, but says, “Don’t get upset. We both know this was going to happen, and we’re better for it.” I agree, and I go to the wrap party. Cue the song “Come Monday Night” by God Help the Girl.

Upon waking, I can not remember the punchline to the Amish joke.

Leave a Reply

