From the dream journal

Note: My father passed away on Tuesday night. This was the dream I had last night.

My father has died, and arrangements have to be made at the college because apparently he has been teaching some sort of business or economics class there. I check in to see if things have been taken care of, and am disturbed to find that Brian Warner, AKA Marilyn Manson, is teaching the class. At least he had the decency to take off the make up before coming to class.

I go to the hospital to do some paperwork, when one of the doctors comes over and looks at the papers. He turns to another doctor and says “You didn’t try the [I forget] procedure?” The doctors argue, and one of them says, “I can save your father.”

“No,” I say. “He died days ago.”

“I can bring him back.”

I stare at him. “That’s…horrible. Even if it were possible, which it’s not, his brain hasn’t had oxygen in days. He’d be like a zombie!”

The doctor shakes his head. “He’s been kept on ice.”

“Still, it’s…OK. Knock yourself out. It won’t work.”

The doctors go into the other room. I sit in the waiting room, contemplating just leaving but concerned that they are doing terrible things to his corpse. Then the doctor comes out. “Mr. Novak…here’s Mr. Novak.”

My dad walks out dressed in a suit. His hair is darker than it had been, closer to what it was 25 years ago. He looks at me and says, “Someone told me that numbnuts from Glenoak is ruining my classes.*”

*Marilyn Manson went to Glenoak high school, fairly close to my parents’ house. One of the last things he said ot me was that he had seen a movie trailer with “That numbnuts from Glenoak” in it, and that Manson shouldn’t act.

Leave a comment